March 2, 2022



The NCLEX and IELTS are two very important exams international nurses must take to become a United States Registered Nurse (USRN). We explain the differences and requirements of each exam below.


The National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX)

The NCLEX is an internationally recognized licensure exam that helps determine the nursing competence or level of knowledge in nursing. It is a pass or fail exam, and is a requirement for anyone who wants to become a USRN. However, Interstaff does NOT require candidates to pass the NCLEX before applying to our program. We offer NCLEX sponsorship to help nurses prepare for this process. 

Interstaff offers a free, three-month NCLEX review via Uworld and it includes tutorials, modules, and quiz banks. The review is completely online, so nurses need access to a reliable internet connection. Our Processing Officers provide guidance on how to access the virtual materials and complete the review in a timely manner. 

At the end of the review, we will analyze your scores to determine if you are ready to test. If your scores reflect that you are ready to test, we will proceed with your NCLEX registration. We proudly note that we currently have an 83% first-time pass rate among our nurses.

Click here to find the nearest testing centers.


The International English Language Testing System (IELTS)

The IELTS is a requirement for all international nurses from non-English speaking countries who  desire to work in the US. It is comprised of four sections including reading, writing, speaking, and listening. VisaScreen credentialing services require an overall band score of 6.5 and a speaking score of 7 on the IELTS Academic Module. The IELTS score is only valid for two years, therefore, we encourage nurses to take the exam after they pass the NCLEX.

It is important to note that the IELTS cannot be replaced with TOEFL or OET.

Click here to find the nearest IELTS testing centers. 

Take the first step of your USRN journey by applying with Interstaff.